Farmfoods Reviews

This post may contain affiliate links for products I recommend.
FarmFoods Review

I had comments here about negative experiences with FarmFoods. I contacted Farmfoods and they claim to be overwhelmed by the number of orders after the Coronavirus and have hired more people to improve their product and customer service.

The FarmFoods website tells their story and it seems they are very concerned to provide their customers with high-quality meat at the most affordable price.

In a hurry? You can find Farmfoods website here!

At the time of me writing this, the FarmFoods market work with 6 farms that all raise their beef in a natural way and only feed them grass or hay.

When a veterinarian is needed, to give some type of medicine, the animals will be sold as regular beef and no longer as natural and grass-fed. I like that Idea.

I read on their website that they strongly believe in the fact that our food has become anonymous and that we should now where I food is coming from as our ancestors did. I agree with that.

What meat can you buy at FarmFoods?

What I like is that they do not offer only the standard meats but a few more than others do not carry in their stores. They offer:

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Chicken
  • Salmon

The farmfoods market Salmon is Wild Caught Alaska Salmon from the certified farm of Tony and Heater wood in Alaska. The Salmon is deep-frozen right after being processed and vacuum-sealed.

FarmFoods Shipping method

it works fairly standard to order your beef, pork, chicken or Salmon.

  • Find your meat
  • Checkout
  • Wait for delivery

Shipping is done through UPS and the meat is kept frozen by using dry ice.

There is enough dry ice packed around the meat to last more than 12 hours after delivery.

The farm foods market meat is shipped on Monday and Thursday and will arrive in 2-3 days. The delivery is most of the time done in the afternoon.

Ready to find out more? You can find their store here!

I thought about giving you a list of all the cuts of grass-fed beef they have in their store but that would take up almost a whole page, so here is a short rundown.

Farmfoods Beef

  • Steaks
  • hamburger
  • Sausage
  • Roast
  • Ribs
  • Marrow bones
  • organ meat

FarmFoods Pork

  • Bacon
  • Ham
  • Tenderloin
  • Pork Belly
  • Pork chops
  • Spare ribs
  • Ground pork
  • Pork Butt
  • Pork shoulder
  • Marrow and neck bones
  • pork sausage

FarmFoods Chicken

The Chicken is raised outside on pastures all year round where they eat natural food like grass, bugs, seeds, and worms. Added to their food is locally milled conventional grains. This is probably not a non-GMO grain. It seems to me that the farmfoods frozen chicken is a well-sold item.

FarmFoods Salmon

Like I mentioned above the Salmon is wild-caught in Alaska and after catching frozen in fillets that are 6 – 7 ounces and individually packed.

More FarmFoods choices

There are also a few combination packages available that contain top sirloin steak, two Salmon fillets, A whole chicken and 3-pound ground beef.

My opinion about FarmFoods

After reading a lot about the idea and doing this the FarmFoods reviews I can only say that I like their store and the story behind it.

Unfortunately I have also found a number of negative opinions about Farmfoods. I might have to lower my rating for that reason in the near future.

I like the idea that they try to keep lean production and promotion to keep the prices as low as they can. This probably will result in some farm foods market discounts

I looked at al the farms they get their meats from and read how they thought about natural beef and could not find anything I did not agree with.

I suggest that if you like to cook some healthy food on your grill, smoker or even in your oven, to have a look at their store here.

FarmFoods best deals

There is always a farm foods market discount available and you can find them either on their website (Click here to go there) or sign up for their newsletter and get them delivered in your email box.

Thank you for reading this FarmFoods review and feel free to contact me with any questions you have.

There are several other stores that sell meat online and that was the reason for me to a Crowd Cow review to give you more options.

Once you start looking for those stores you find more of them and because of giving you more choices I also did a Snake River Farms review and this is also a nice option.

Happy grilling!

Eddie van Aken

24 comments for “Farmfoods Reviews

  1. S.
    October 1, 2019 at 11:25 pm

    I disagree with your assessment of this company. I purchased a beef package. The Rib Eye steak did not look like any Rib Eye steak I have ever had. It was dated 9 months earlier than the date I received it. The customer service person gave me some story of only slaughtering the meat at certain times, so that is why the meat was old. I don’t buy that story. The meat was tough as could be. Then the center cut pork chops, which were $16.95lb., were not center cut but something called “butterfly pork chops.” The meat was two tones in color, as you get with cheap cuts of pork chops in a grocery store. They were not very good & I braised them after first searing.
    I will not be buying their products ever again. I feel as though I was ripped off.

    • October 2, 2019 at 1:22 pm

      Susan,
      I am sorry to hear about your bad experience.
      I have used Farmfoods a few times now and have not had any problems.
      To me, it looked fresh and it had a nice color and tasted great.

      It is my experience also that grass-finished beef looks a little different than the store-bought meat.

      Thank you for sharing your experience with Farmfoods although it is different than mine.
      Edward

    • Sande
      May 2, 2020 at 6:23 pm

      I completely agree! The ribeye steak looked like a mass of beef with no shape. The ground beef I just cooked up looked like light pink mass in the shape of a brick. I had to pour out at least 1 1/2 cups rendered fat! It was awful! I will never buy from this co. again! I recommend you DO NOT purchase beef from Farm Foods. It looks like ground dog meat. The consistency was sticky, gummy and fatty. Such a disappointment. Especially since I spent a lot of hard earned money on it! Worse than grocery store meat!

  2. Michael Roake
    October 4, 2019 at 7:39 pm

    I made 2 orders a few weeks ago. have not received an email stating anything has shipped yet. The site says ships in 2-3 days. I have emailed the customer service line 4 times now (and it says, they will respond within 24 hours). I am now considering going the legal route as I feel I was just had for several hundred dollars. If there was a problem with my order and they were above board, they would have the decency to at least respond to me.

    • Michael Roake
      October 4, 2019 at 8:56 pm

      I just received answers to my emails, 5 minutes after posting this…

      • October 6, 2019 at 10:59 am

        Michael,
        I am sorry to hear about your bad experience. I am happy that they responded after you posted it here.

        Every company that respects itself should always respond to customer complaints fast.
        2 weeks is a ridiculously long time!

        But still, after doing my review and reading on a ton of websites and forums, your complaint is an exception to what I found out about the FarmFoods service.
        However, if you can point me out more complaints I will add them and lower my star rating.

        Thank you for helping make my website more valuable for the readers by adding your experience.
        Eddie Vandam

        • Susan Ohsfeldt
          April 30, 2020 at 6:34 pm

          We paid $628 on 4/14. Nothing from them. We contacted them on 4/21. They said they did not process the order due to suspected fraud, but they had no problem taking our money. Promised to ship 4/24 to arrive no later than 4/30 It is 6:30 no delivery no answers to emails and I found their phone number on my credit card statement. No answer

  3. Ellie Rubio
    November 19, 2019 at 5:07 pm

    I purchased the 1/16th cow meat and received the toughest, chewiest meat I have experienced. It is old meat! I am a chef and have grilled steaks and made roast of meat from grassfed cows. Never had I had this kind of quality, gristled and tough. Farmfoods claimed that the meat was from Humboldt County farm. I don’t think so.

    I feel I have been ripped off — it was very expensive! I will certainly not buy from this company again. I will instead buy directly from the producer.

  4. Russ
    November 25, 2019 at 3:39 pm

    I am also not a fan of FarmFoods, I just ordered my first (and last) meat Pack.
    Was delivered promptly but ween i received the order they chose to give me the cheaper cuts.
    Part of the pack was to include 3-4 pounds of Coulotte Steak, Cross Rib Steak, Chuck Eye Steak and/or Flat Iron Steak, there was all 3 pounds chuck steak did not say Eye steak.
    Wouldn’t most of us think by the description you would get more variety?
    I contacted customer support and was politely told that’s the nature of there packs.
    Well my nature is not to be a repeat customer.

  5. November 25, 2019 at 4:47 pm

    Elli and Russ,
    Sorry to hear about this experience. I have contacted Farmfoods and asked them to give a comment on your bad experience.
    Let’s see what they do!

    Overall I still read more positive than negative reviews. But Farmfoods has a problem with their product that is obvious and I might have to lower my rating until they take care of that.

    Eddie

  6. michael
    April 10, 2020 at 10:25 am

    Any idea how long the waitlist is? If I applied today what is an estimated time that I will be able to order? That will give me a better idea how much meat to buy at the store today.

    Thanks

    • April 10, 2020 at 2:22 pm

      Michael,
      As far as I know, there is no waitlist.
      They send out orders every Monday and Tuesday.
      So I guess if you order today it will be shipped Monday or Tuesday.
      let us know if it is any different, please.

      Here is a link to the order page: order page.

      Hope this answers your question.
      Enjoy their meat!

      Eddie

      • Joe Melon
        April 15, 2020 at 9:04 pm

        I place an order for a 1/16th Cow on April 4th 2020 Saturday and received April 15th 2020 Wednesday. I did pay for expedited shipping but that was reimbursed back to me after I advised Farmfoods through their website contact page 3 times about my extra payment for shipping. I did get a text message with a tracking number but no movement as it was still at the warehouse in Shawnee, KS and be delivered to West VA. Now regarding the meat dates, the oldest meat was dated March 24, 2020. The packing of the meat in the box was well done. And everything was frozen and the meats looked very nice, no discoloring. One thing about the meat types, was that I received about 13 1pound packs of ground beef. I did get a 2.3 pound brisket. No ribeyes, 5 filet mignons and other steak types. When cooking these meats, Farmfoods does provide thawing and cooking instructions to not overcook meat because their beef is grassfed and cooking time and temp will vary and be less. I have no complaints and Farmfoods did a great job and responded back to me within 24 hours of me contacting them.

        • April 16, 2020 at 9:49 am

          Joe,
          Nice to hear that you had a good experience just like I have.
          I also noticed that the grass-fed beef need less cooking time.
          The taste is great and in my opinion a little bit like game meat.

          Happy grilling and stay safe.

          Eddie

    • Pete
      April 13, 2020 at 7:43 pm

      Where are these good reviews? I made an order and was completely disappointed. I order the 10-12 pound of chicken in a variety and got two 3-4pound chickens and 1 pound of chicken legs and I The cost was around 170!!!! Figured I would’ve had some breast, my legs, thighs ect. I got completely ripped off. I use butcherbox and northstarbison Regularly and will never order from farmfoods again!!! And I hope nobody else does either. What a scam!!

      • April 16, 2020 at 9:44 am

        Pete,
        Sorry to hear about your bad experience. I can show you many good reviews, but I have mentioned before that I use them myself and never had any issues.
        Still believe that FarmFoods has a problem that they should take care of.
        Maybe I have to adjust my rating a little lower.

        Happy grilling and stay safe

        Eddie

        • May 2, 2020 at 12:01 pm

          Dear Susan,
          This website is a hobby. I am not on it day and night. If you leave a comment I might not get to it a few days later.
          I don’t like it that you accuse me of getting kickbacks! and using a different name or email does not change how fast I can respond.

          I respect your comment and I hope you respect the time I put into this website with making just enough money on some advertising to cover my expenses.

          Comments are something I allow to help other readers. I would like you to keep it civilized and respectful.

          I am sorry about your bad experience but I use Farmfoods and have never had a problem with them, just like many others.

          Eddie

        • Susan Ohsfeldt
          May 2, 2020 at 3:52 pm

          Still no review of the rip off. Finally contacted us late last night saying they hope to ship next week? I cancelled. Worst customer service. Your site did not post my review. Took my money 4/14. Failed to ship. Promised to ship 4/26 to arrive by 4/30. Still no delivery. No reply to cancellation emailed this morning. No one answers the phone. I disputed the charge yesterday. This site is not legit. I saw you have another site and you would not post my comments. There is another site where they get 1 and two star ratings. Lots of ripping off going on. You should take down this fake review site. You are hurting people

          • May 2, 2020 at 6:09 pm

            Susan Ohsfeldt, Susan Dodd, Kathy Dodd,
            Leaving the same comment 3 times under different names does not make any sense and I will not place the same comment 3 times.
            It is obvious now. You don’t like my review and don’t like Farmfoods and I am sorry to hear that.
            More of the same comments from the same person will not help my readers. I will not publish them anymore.
            Eddie Vandam

  7. May 15, 2020 at 9:44 am

    seems like the same run around, Place an order on the 2nd of May, Tracking number on May 4th. May 15th the meat has not been shipped even after 2 weeks worth of emails to support with Vince De Salvo “personally monitoring” my delivery. Asked a direct question would my meat be delivered by the 15th. All of a sudden no more replies. Emails are always written to give them an out. Never directly answer the question as if they cut and paste responses. I called my credit card company.

  8. Roxanne
    May 15, 2020 at 11:56 am

    My experience with FarmFoods is exactly what others have commented. Ordered mid-April not received in the promised 2 week time frame, claimed it would be sent the next day, never did. Sent my order to someone in Knoxville, TN. Despite FIVE different requests to cancel my order they claim they cannot because my order is packed and ready to ship. I think we’re all upset that you positively reviewed this company and then people like us tried it based on your review. You should adjust it based on our reviews and terrible experiences.

    • May 16, 2020 at 3:40 pm

      Roxanne, and Mark,
      Although I personally have had no problems with Farmfoods I decide for now to not recommend buying from them.
      I have placed a warning in red at the top of this article and am trying to contact Farmfoods and ask for a comment.

      Eddie

  9. Ryan McGovern
    June 2, 2020 at 2:36 pm

    I ordered from Farm Foods. I paid $80 for a rush order guaranteed in a week. It arrived almost 4 weeks later and was missing half of the premium steak. After an additional 14 emails to them, the offered to refund me less than 15% of my purchase price since I was missing 15% of the total weight of my order. I told them to please send me the missing steaks, they refused. I offered to send the whole order back for a refund, paying for shipping and dry ice myself, they refused. They told me they couldn’t send me the missing steaks since they don’t sell individual steaks. This is obviously a complete lie. I’ve now sent 16 emails to 3 different customer service reps and they won’t even reply. Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced! Company should be brought up on fraud charges.

    • June 3, 2020 at 9:12 am

      Ryan,
      Although I personally have not had any problems up to now with Farmfoods I put a warning at the top of my review.
      Thanks for sharing.

      Eddie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *